Reserve Now
Pinecrest at Lak Cumberland | (270) 866-5615
1080 Hwy 1383 Russell Springs, KY 42642


    The greater Cumberland region stretches over 400 miles from West Virginia to Alabama and represents one of the western-most extensions of the Southern Appalachian Mountains. The forests and waters of the Cumberlands are among the most biologically rich temperate-zone systems in the world, harboring an extraordinary number of plants, fish, mussels, salamanders, fungi, and other species, many of which occur only in the Cumberlands, but nowhere else. The Cumberlands also contains thousands of caves that support one of the most diverse assemblages of cave animals on earth.

    The biological importance of the Cumberlands is largely due to the unique geology of the region. Formed from the remnants of an ancient sea, the area is made of a low mountain chain (3,000-4,000 feet elevation) that is surrounded by a high plateau (~1,500 feet elevation). The Plateau is these river canyons, know as largely as "gulfs"--are nearly one thousand feet deep and contain a vast array of habitats that support an abundance of life forms.

    Russell County, the heart of beautiful Lake Cumberland, can introduce you to all Lake Cumberland has to offer, whether it be romance and excitement, peace and tranquility, a family get-away or just plain fun!

Lake Cumberland History

    In the 1940's, the Wolf Creek Project began construction of Lake Cumberland under the supervision of the US Army Corps of Engineers. The lake was completed for full time use in August 1952. The lake was formed by damming a large section of the Cumberland River. Operation of the lake is for the primary purposes of flood control and production of hydo-electric power. The Wolf Creek Dam, powerhouse, and lake are operated and supervised by the Corps of Engineers.

    Lake Cumberland is 101 miles long and is one of the largest man-made lakes in the Nation. Each year millions of visitors come from all over the United States to the Lake Cumberland area to enjoy the rugged beauty of it's 63,000 surface acres and 1,255 miles of wooded shoreline. Whether you are renting a houseboat, bringing your own boat, fishing, swimming, or skiing, you'll discover the tranquility Lake Cumberland offers.

Russell County History

    Russell County, Kentucky was named for Col. William Russell. Russell, a military leader and statesman, participated in the American Revolution, various Indian wars, and the War of 1812, as well as holding legislative office in both Virginia and Kentucky.

    Russell County was the 81st county in Kentucky and was created in 1825 from sections of Adair, Cumberland and Wayne Counties.

    It is a small county, situated in the south middle (central) section of the state and lies on both sides of the Cumberland River, is bounded north and northeast by Casey, east by Pulaski; southeast by Wayne; south by Clinton; and west and northwest by Cumberland and Adair counties.

    The beautiful level bottom land on the Cumberland is very fertile, but the surface of the county generally is hilly and broken. Good streams of water abound and two woolen factories were established before 1847 and many other factories then were advantageously established.

    The town of Creelsboro, the oldest settlement in the area, was thriving some 16 years before Russell County was formed. It was named for Elijah Creel, an early settler. At one time, Creelsboro was the busiest river port on the Cumberland River between Nashville, Tennessee and Burnside, Kentucky.

    Kentucky steamboats that supplied most of the transportation of goods for a five county area put into port at Creelsboro, where there was a bank, a school, three stores and a building provided lodging for steamboat passengers. Today, several original buildings stand vacant, devoid of the hustle and bustle of steamboat days.

City of Russell Springs History

    Russell Springs was officially named in 1901, even though it had been an active community for years before then. Among the springs that abounded in this area of Russell County was a chaleybeate spring (mineral spring). Mineral springs were popular in the 19th century. A resort quickly grew up around the spring and by the 1890's, at the peak of its success, a 25-room hotel and 10-room long row (motel) housed patrons of the spring. The post office established in 1894 was called Kimble; in 1901 it became Russell Springs.

Pinecrest at Lake Cumberland History
(Click on the pictures to make them bigger)